Announcement: Registrar Corp has acquired
Learn More View Registrar Corp's Other Services


SQF (Safe Quality Food)

SQF Definition: SQF is a Food Safety Management Certification Scheme, created and managed by SQF Institute, used to control food safety risks. Once your food safety management system is implemented it is audited and certified by a third-party certification body.

The Food Safety Certification requirements provide a rigorous system to manage food safety risks and provide safe products for use by companies in the food industry.

It is a GFSI recognized food safety certification. This allows your customers to have confidence in your food safety program and know that you have a rigorous food safety system in place.

What Does SQF Stand For?

SQF stands for Safe Quality Food.

What Are The Benefits?

Managing Risk

First and foremost, building your food safety management system will provide your company with effective management of food safety hazards by creating an environment capable of producing safe product and a management system to continually manage, monitor, validate and improve the system.

Maintain Current Customers

Statistics show that approximately 1 out of 4 certified companies are asking their suppliers to achieve certification. Chances are that if you have not been asked yet, you will be asked in the near future. Starting on your certification can help you stay competitive and qualified to work with your current customers.

Increase Your Market Reach

Large retailers and multinational manufacturers or processors are also demanding certification of their suppliers. SQF Certification means you are qualified to supply these organizations or their suppliers, opening up a large market for your products.

Prepare for New Regulations

Countries across the globe are making changes to food safety regulations, including the United States and its Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA). The newest version, Edition 8, prepares your organization to meet many or most of the FSMA requirements.

What Is Edition 8?

Edition 8.1 is the newest version of the Safe Quality Food Code.

This version of the code, became effective January 1, 2018. Companies are expected to begin their transition to the new edition.

What is New? An overview summary of the changes

SQF has updated the code with 4 goals in mind.

  • to better fit the needs of industry sectors,
  • to take into account the latest regulatory requirements such as FSMA,
  • to encourage continuous improvement
  • to meet requirements in the new GFSI Benchmarking Requirements in GFSI V. 7.

Learn more about the SQF Edition 8 changes.

What is SQF Edition 7.2?

Edition 7.2 is no longer the current version of the code and is no longer used for certification audits. SQF Edition 8 is the current version and is used for certification audits.

What are the SQF Levels and Modules?

There are 3 Levels of Certification

This has changed since Edition 7.2 (changes noted below)

  • Food Safety Fundamentals: This level does not require HACCP and is not recognized by GFSI.
  • Food Safety Code (Previously known as Level 2)
  • Quality (Previously known as Level 3). This is for those who are already certified to an SQF Food Safety Code.

Modules are different sets of requirements based on industry sectors.

You will choose the Food Safety Code that is specific to your industry and then follow the requirements in that code. Module 2 is the backbone of the food safety system. This module describes the requirements that assure product safety.

In addition to Module 2, a company will also use an industry-specific module that sets out the requirements for the industry-specific GMP (Good Manufacturing Practices or Prerequisite Program) requirements. Read more about modules. If you have any doubts at all about which to choose, we recommend confirming with your certification body that you have selected, to find out which is the correct Code for your business.

The SQF Code for all of the segments can be downloaded for free from SQFI.

How Do We Get SQF Certified?

Basic Steps to Certification

  1. Download the Code and Guidance documents free at
  2. Learn what is required for the food safety management system
  3. Select the applicable modules for your industry segment and activities
  4. Register in the SQFI database (Reliance database at
  5. Designate your SQF Practitioner
  6. Design, document and implement the required processes and food safety fundamentals
  7. Train your internal audit team
  8. Run your system, collect records, perform internal audits, management review and HACCP team meetings.
  9. Make corrections and improvements to your system.
  10. Select a certification body
  11. Schedule and complete your audits

How Long Does it Take to Get Certified?

Getting ready for registration involves building your Food Safety Management System, documenting that system, and implementing it throughout your organization. A 2012 survey of certified companies showed an average of 8-12 months to prepare for certification. Based on information from our visitors and customers, the average time for implementation is approximately one year, however the time frame will vary depending on your organization's specific circumstances. Your timeframe maybe shorter or longer than average.

Consider the following: